Guidelines for IAORC Committee Membership

The Institutional Anatomical Oversight Review Committee shall be appointed annually by the President of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston ("UTHealth") and may be reappointed for multiple years at the discretion of the President. A quorum, defined as a simple majority of voting members, is required to approve any allowable requests for exceptions specified in HOOP 97 - Deceased Human Bodies and Anatomical Specimens and to conduct meetings required by the policy.

The Committee shall be composed of the following members:

- UTHealth Executive Vice-President & Chief Academic Officer (Chair) or designee
- McGovern Medical School Chair of Dept. of Pathology or designee
- School of Dentistry Chief Academic Officer or designee
- Director of Human Structure Facility ("HSF")
- Manager of Willed Body Program
- Up to three faculty members with experience using anatomic specimens in teaching and/or research
- Director of McGovern Center for Health, Humanities and the Human Spirit or designee
- Representative from Legal Affairs
- Chief Audit Officer or designee
- Two community members
- Additional members as necessary
- Director of Management Operations of Neurobiology & Anatomy (ex officio without vote)
- Manager of the HSF (ex officio without vote)

Individuals designated as members of the committee by virtue of their position may designate a substitute, approved by the Chair, to attend in their absence.